I can has waffles?

Parental phone calls in the morning do not often bode well. Especially now that I’ve moved out of the house (again), am on my own, and am otherwise not immediately available to them. Mind you, I get along great with my folks, but a girl needs her space.

So when I hear my phone go off in the wee hours of a Saturday morning (i.e. before noon), it generally means one of the following:

  • “What are your plans for the day? (So I can get you do something for me?)”
  • “We screwed up something on the computer, again, and you work for a software company, so you must know about this weird error message I’m getting…”
  • “The cat/dog/resident turkeys just did the funniest thing!”
  • “It’s 3am and I’m just calling to make sure that you’re at your place and were not just part of the high-speed police chase that ended in our yard…” (Note: True story.)

But sometimes, I get to hear this:

  • “I made waffles.”

And instantly I’m out of bed, dressed, and out the door before anything else is said. Because if there’s one thing that can wake me out of my morning stupor (besides coffee), it’s the promise of my mother’s fresh-made waffles.

She has never been one to just follow the recipe, even a simple Bisquick version, and since I’ve had to go GF, that means she’s got carte blanche to experiment.

Funny thing about me and her. We HATE to cook, but love culinary experiments.

(Of course my dad likes it too – he gets to eat them.)

Waffles with apple topping

Normally, all of our waffles came from Bisquick, because it’s easy and we’ve always had Bisquick around, and lately, we spotted a special GF Bisquick mix. (*cue Hallelujah chorus*) However, on this particular Saturday, my mom didn’t much feel like driving all the way into the grocery store for a special trip to buy said GF Bisquick. Instead, she had the Simply Savory baking mix and, of course, the Betty Crocker cookbook.

(*GRIN*)

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk (or 2 cups normal milk with 2 tbsp lemon juice mixed in)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups Simply Savory baking mix
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3-4 tbsp veggie/olive oil
  • 2 tbsp (or more) pecans, coarsely cut or broken
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Heat waffle iron while mixing ingredients.
  2. Beat eggs. Add milk.
  3. Sift dry ingredients together (baking mix, baking soda, baking powder, and salt). Beat in with eggs and milk.
  4. Beat batter until smooth. You might need to add more oil until the batter is the correct consistency. (“Until it’s not sticky” – quoth my mom.)
  5. Spray iron with cooking spray and bake.

Note: The waffles will be more tender than standard Bisquick waffles, and will probably come out darker than normal.

Note note: If your waffles come out charcoal, yur doin it wrong. And need to watch the iron more.

For topping, you can use the standard butter-n-syrup, or use fruit slices in sauce (my personal fave). The pic above uses apple pie filling, which means that one little waffle is an entire meal unto itself. I’ll share that recipe as soon as I figure out how to reduce it to a more manageable size. (The original recipe calls for 10 quarts of sliced apples.)

About C.N. Wolf

Vaguely humanoid, often inquisitive, moderately bizarre. Also called a writer. View all posts by C.N. Wolf

Leave a Reply

